QDR Governance

Two advisory boards offer guidance to and assist QDR with the development and administration of the repository.  The current members of each board are listed below.

The Research Advisory Board focuses on QDR’s relationship with the scholarly community. The Technical Advisory Board focuses on QDR’s infrastructure and functions.

Initial members of the two advisory boards were selected by QDR’s co-directors and served a four-year term expiring on December 31, 2017. Subsequent board members are elected to two year terms. The current boards' terms will expire on December 31, 2021. Their replacements will be elected by QDR member institutions from a slate drawn up by a nominating committee.

Users interested in additional information on QDR’s advisory boards should consult the By-Laws of the Advisory Boards of the Qualitative Data Repository (QDR).

Technical Advisory Board

Micah Altman, Director of Research and Head/Scientist, Program on Information Science for the MIT Libraries, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Andy Byers, Senior Publishing Technology Developer, Centre for Technology and Publishing at Birkbeck, University of London.

Jacob Carlson, Library Research Data Services Manager, University of Michigan.

Thu-Mai Christian, Assistant Director of Digital Archives, Odum Institute for Research in Social Science, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Mercè Crosas (Chair), Director of Data Science, Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS), Harvard University.

Timothy DiLauro, Data Archivist, Johns Hopkins University.

Jane Greenberg, A. B. Kroeger Professor, Director, Metadata Research Center, The College of Computing & Informatics, Drexel University.

Patricia Hswe, Program Officer for Scholarly Communications, Mellon Foundation.

Margaret C. Levenstein, Director, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, University of Michigan.

Jon Udell, Director of Integration, Hypothesis.

Research Advisory Board

James M. Dubois, Steven J. Bander Professor of Medical Ethics and Professionalism, and Director, Center for Clinical Research Ethics, School of Medicine, University of Washington St. Louis.

John Gerring, Professor of Government, University of Texas at Austin.

Nicole Janz, Rights Lab Assistant Professor in International Relations, University of Nottingham.

Marcus Kreuzer, Associate Professor of Political Science, Villanova University.

Jessica Lester, Associate Professor, School of Education, Indiana University Bloomington.

James Mahoney, Gordon Fulcher Professor in Decision-Making, Northwestern University.

Kiera McNeice, Research Data Manager, Cambridge University Press.

Alesia Montgomery, Subject Specialist for Sociology, Psychology & Qualitative Data, Stanford Libraries.

Andrew Moravcsik, Professor of Politics and International Affairs and Director, European Union Program, Princeton University.

Kathleen Murphy, Institutional Review Board, Northwestern.

Amy Pienta (Chair), Acquisitions Director, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, University of Michigan.

Lisa Wedeen, Mary R. Morton Professor of Political Science and the College and the Co-Director of the Chicago Center for Contemporary Theory, the University of Chicago.